bits of 2013 and 2014

New year, new hair.

New year, new hair.

So 2013 has drawn to a close. Here’s some things I didn’t blog about sufficiently during our most recent journey around the sun, more or less in chronological order:

  • We found out we were moving to Houston in March.
  • In the spring I became a Linguistics and Hispanic Linguistics double major with a minor in German.
  • But we staying in Wilmington until August.
  • My younger brother graduated from high school.
  • Two of our cousins came and stayed with us for a beach-filled week in the summer.
  • Aforementioned brother left on his gap year and missed the entire moving process.
  • We moved to Houston, Texas.
  • My youngest brother started attending private school rather than being homeschooled.
  • Dad traveled the world to meet his new team.
  • I finished my second and third semesters at UNC.
  • We decided that I will stay at UNC instead of transferring to a Texas school.
  • My great-aunt and uncle let me cook in their kitchen once a week all semester long.
  • I waded through the process of  applying to be an exchange student in Germany.
  • My exchange program in Germany changed from Tübingen to Freiburg, at the very last minute.
  • I joined my church in Chapel Hill.
  • I bid goodbye to my teenage years and began to feel really old.
  • I started going to a small group at church.
  • I became an assistant coach at CrossFit UNC-CH.
  • I stayed on as the secretary/co-president of Mezcla, UNC’s Spanish-English student magazine.
  • After an entire weekend of training in Charlotte, I became a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer.
  • I survived the fall semester, which wasn’t half as stressful as I expected it to be.
  • The best friend and I road tripped the 20 hours to Texas in under two days.

And those are just the highlights. It was a marvelous year. What I’m looking forward to in 2014:

  • Being home in Texas for two months.
  • Cooking, and hopefully blogging.
  • Finally finishing the books I started last summer.
  • Being an exchange student at the Universität Freiburg in Germany, from March til July.
  • Drowning in German.
  • Returning to NC.
  • Starting junior year (whaaat?) at UNC in the fall.
3 comments

  1. I love your new hairdo.

    I got the latest blog when continuing to look for Freiburg. Hum!! Where will I find the next one?

Leave a Comment

