website wednesday: In Jennie’s Kitchen

website wednesday

Yet again I have a preface to the main body of this post: I’m thinking that Website Wednesday may be a semiweekly feature. If I actually add to the series every week, I’ll soon run out of websites. That I will eventually deplete my list of websites to feature is certain, but by posting once every two weeks, I hope to delay that inevitability. That said, here’s this week’s website:

In Jennie’s Kitchen

My relationship with In Jennie’s Kitchen has been one of discovery and introduction. Jennie’s was one of the first food blogs I discovered after The Pioneer Woman, and though I since have culled from my bookmarks many websites that I found then, In Jennie’s Kitchen has remained one that I check on often. Back when I first began trying her recipes, I’d never cooked with kale, was still somewhat afraid of and repulsed by tofu, and had certainly never made a soufflé. That changed quickly. Coming across as an unassuming but wise provider-of-kitchen-knowledge, Jennie guides readers through recipes, connecting them seamlessly with anecdotes from her life, with a sensible, comfortable tone that puts you at ease. You camake this, all her recipes seem to say. Her straightforward recipes for tasty food free of unusual ingredients come with unpretentious photos and clear directions. You don’t want to miss them.

Here are her recipes that have made it into my “favorites” folder:

  • Sauteed Kale and White Beans: Spring is coming; one might even say it’s here. And that means kale will be available in abundance. This is one of the uncomplicated but tasty recipes I turn to when I need to use up an pile of those massive, daunting leaves.
  • Sweet Cinnamon Kale Chips: These are the first kale chips I ever tried, and they won me over. The cinnamon and sugar sticks melds together on the kale leaves, which turn into bites of crispy, sweet goodness. Whenever we have an abundance of kale in the garden, this is the recipe I turn to. It even inspired me to come up with my own recipe for kale chips, back when I was first dabbling in recipe creation.
  • Orange Sesame Tofu: I think I have a weakness for savory orange dishes, especially with tofu and fish. This pan-seared tofu absorbs the sweet and savory flavor of its Asian cuisine-esque marinade and gets nice and crisp on the outside. What more could you want?
  • Sweet Potato Leek Souffle: My favorite recipe from In Jennie’s Kitchen by far, this soufflé was my introduction to the world of soufflés. The sweet potato and leek combination may sound strange, but it really works. It’s fluffy but hearty, flavorful but simple. If I recall correctly, this was the first recipe for which I broke my I-never-cook-the-same-thing-twice rule to serve it to my grandparents when they came for a visit. Grandpa L. had seconds. If you’re going to try any of these recipes I’ve mentioned, make this one.

Go check out In Jennie’s Kitchen, everyone!

Thoughts on the new blog theme, anyone? I can’t decide if I love it or am ambivalent.

Leave a Comment

