gingerbread granola

gingerbread granola

Well, Website Wednesday is on vacation for the moment – an inauspicious beginning to the series, I know – while I dedicate the full force of my descriptive powers to my critique of critical essays of Pride and Prejudice. You read right. Critique of critical essays. Oh, the things I have to write. Last semester I wrote about gravestones. That’s a long story.

IMG_4965

Anyway, since I’ve basically committed to posting twice a week now – Website Wednesday and a recipe post on the weekend – I decided I couldn’t post nothing. Actually, it would be incredibly sensible to post nothing. I think I’m a bit crazy to demand of myself two posts a week. Then again, no I’m not. This silly little blog is becoming just as important to me as my schoolwork, so by golly I’m going to devote myself to it as if it were schoolwork. I refuse to give in. Take that, German homework and Pride and Prejudice paper!

Photo on 2013-02-26 at 21.03

So, tomorrow when I get up at 7:30 to keep working on said paper, I’ll munch on some granola. It’ll be Gingerbread Granola. Yeah. It’ll be an act of defiance of the very paper I’m working on, since I’ll have blogged about the granola when I should have been working on the paper. I may be a sleep deprived and muttering about “art versus nature” and “anti-jacobin sentiment” as I stumble to class, but I will have blogged about granola. Hah!

gingerbread granola

At this rate I am beginning to think I should call myself “The Granola Queen” and start another blog with that name. It seems like every other recipe I post is granola. Oh well. This one tastes like Christmas break, which makes it especially appropriate to eat when you’re bogged down with work that puts you in an exceedingly un-Christmasy spirit. When you don’t have time to bake gingersnaps or gingerbread, you can still have the happy flavor of Christmas spices in your bowl for breakfast. There’s even that familiar little bite of baking soda. So, snag your pen, scoot up to your desk, or hunch over your textbook, and shovel some merry gingerbread flavor into your mouth at breakfast time. It just might help.

gingerbread granola

Gingerbread Granola

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups oats
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds or flax seed meal
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 tablespoons honey (or other liquid sweetener, like agave)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 + 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 + 1/2 teaspoons ginger
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat over to 275°F.

In a large bowl combine the spices, salt, oats, and other dry ingredients. Mix molasses, honey, and applesauce in a small bowl. Pour the liquid into the oat mixture and stir until all of the oats are coated. When you think you have stirred enough, stir some more. Once everything is perfectly incorporated, spread the granola on a baking sheet or two and bake for 45 to 60 minutes, stirring every 10 to 15 minutes. The cooking time will depend on how thin you spread the granola on the baking sheets. Bake until the granola is lightly browned and mostly free of moisture. Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. I am commenting from your home in Rocky Point. Enjoyed the conflicted commentary on studying vs blogging. It seems that the resolution was some of both. Way to go. Love, G.L.

Leave a Comment

