apple cinnamon granola

IMG_4928

I’ve mentioned before that my breakfasts at college consist of granola, granola, and only granola that I make and bring from home. Last time, I posted two kinds of granola that I ate last semester: double almond and chocolate hazelnut. I thoroughly enjoyed those last semester.

But this is a new year, a new semester! A fresh chance to try new granola flavor combinations! The exciting possibility of novel breakfast choices is upon us! It would be shameful to miss such an opportunity.

IMG_4947

In the interest of taking advantage of every chance to further explore the granola universe, I made two new kinds. This is one of them: apple cinnamon granola. You can look for the other in an upcoming post.

IMG_4935

Though I had originally considered purchasing dried apples from Trader Joe’s to simplify the process for this recipe, I quickly discarded the idea. We have a convenient dehydrator that gets sadly neglected in the winter months, so I figured it would be happy to be of use.

IMG_4941

While I stood contemplating the apple choices at the grocery store, an older man filling a produce bag with deep red apples recommended I purchase his favorite variety: winesap. “They’re really sweet; that’s why they’re called ‘winesap.’ And they’re only available around this time of the year.” Who was I to mistrust the information of a man who knew his favorite apple and its season? I bought a ten. Conveniently, they were the cheapest and had been grown in the North Carolina mountains. Success!

As promised, the apples were superbly sweet, albeit a bit soft. That made no difference since I planned to dehydrate them. I cored and sliced them with our apple peeler-corer-slicer – handy kitchen tool, that – and spread them on the racks of the dehydrator. The next day I made the granola.

IMG_4949

What goes better with apples than cinnamon? Not much. Add some walnuts for extra crunch and nuttiness, and you have it. Simple and tasty, people. You can’t go wrong with that.

IMG_4932

Apple Cinnamon Granola

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups oats
  • 1/4 cup flax meal or seeds
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 + 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon, divided
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 cup honey (or other liquid sweetener, like agave or brown rice syrup)
  • 2 cups dried apples, chopped

Preheat oven to 275°F.

Combine 1 + 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon with the rest of the dry ingredients, except the apples.  In a separate bowl whisk the applesauce and honey, and then pour over the oat mixture. Stir well, until all the oats are coated in the honey and applesauce mixture and everything is evenly incorporated. Spread the granola on a baking sheet or two. Bake for 45 to 60 minutes, stirring every 10 to 15 minutes. Baking time will vary depending on how thinly you spread the granola. After baking the granola, add the dried apples and remaining tablespoon of cinnamon. Enjoy!

7 comments

    1. Good luck, if you do try it! I bet yo could dehydrate those apples in your oven if you really wanted to. I can’t remember if you have a dehydrator. Or you could just buy dried apples

  1. Now that sounds good!! I may even try it. Had some store bought Granola this morning and even it tasted good. Put a half banana on it. I know; it is not homemade, but I can do that at home. I’m in Perkasie now. Love, Grandma M.

Leave a Comment

