cherry lime frozen yogurt

IMG_4988

It’s the weekend! Know what that means? That means I have just as much homework as during the week, but I feel as if I have more time in which to accomplish it. Of course, that notions is absolutely false and deceptive. Nevertheless, it’s the weekend. So I give myself leave to blog. Once a week people, one a week. That’s my plan for the semester. I will blog once a week I will blog once a week I will blog once a week. I will! Hopefully.

IMG_4996

Of course, I typed all that last weekend. You can see how well my plan is going to work. Oh well. I try.

IMG_4972

Over Christmas break I typed up all a dozen or so recipes I have been meaning to blog. That makes it more or less simple for me to select and edit pictures, write up some sort of text like that which you are reading now, and throw everything together in the form of a post. Granted, that is the simplified version of the story of one of my posts, but you get the idea.

IMG_4985

 

So, without further digression, let me introduce to you this week’s recipe. Cherry lime frozen yogurt.

IMG_4920

I don’t like winter. Not one bit. Consequently, I like to pretend  it doesn’t exist. Shoot me for not buying seasonally and locally, but I eat salads all winter long. And sometimes I buy grape tomatoes. This frozen yogurt went right along with my winter-denial regimen.

IMG_4926

Its happy lime and contented cherry flavors are just the thing for a winter ice cream frozen yogurt.

IMG_5019

Plus, these are not unusual ingredients. I’m not calling for key limes or bing cherries here. Just plain old limes and dried cherries, which are not difficult to come by during the winter. I suppose you could potentially even use cherries you dried over the summer and frozen lime zest from whenever you had a bunch of ripe limes, if you were ambitious. I just snagged a bag of dried cherries and an organic lime from Harris Teeter.

IMG_4984

Rehydrating the cherries is what makes this tasty. You end up with a sweet, cherry-infused syrup to flavor the frozen yogurt and soft cherry bits to give it texture. I prefer it to just tossing dried cherries into the yogurt and having nearly inedible, solidified cherry chunks in your otherwise unflavored yogurt. No, rehydrate them and you get flavor throughout. Try it! It might be best to wait for a 70-degree day, if you’re lucky enough to live here in the Southeast.

IMG_5009

Cherry Lime Frozen Yogurt

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag (5 oz) dried cherries
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cherry liqueur (optional)
  • 1 container (32 oz) full-fat plain yogurt [I like Dannon’s; it has no additives.]
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 3 teaspoons lime zest

In a small bowl whisk the warm water and sugar until the sugar dissolves. Mix in the liqueur if you wish.  Add the cherries to the water and make sure they are submerged. Soak the cherries for at least 3 hours. Once the cherries have soaked, pour the liquid – which should taste like cherries – into a pot and set the cherries aside. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 10 minutes, to thicken it slightly. Allow the juice to cool completely. In a large bowl mix together the powdered sugar and yogurt. Add the zest, juice, and cherries. Pour the mixture into your ice cream maker, and churn it until it is frozen. Either eat the frozen yogurt immediately while it is frozen but very soft or spoon the ice cream into a different container and place it in the freezer to serve later. Enjoy!

Submitted to Foodie Friday and Food on Friday

7 comments

  1. >I may have to taste this one before I try it.
    Gramdma M – how are going to taste it if you don’t make it?!?!? ;-)

    Joking aside, this sounds very nice – I love lime zest and cherries in anything and I just bought a new CuisineArt ice-cream maker so I may give this a whirl. BTW, for those that don’t want to use cherry liqueur (or like me, that don’t have any) you can use a tablespoon of unflavoured vodka to stop the yoghurt going icy once you refreeze it. You obviously won’t get as much of the cherry flavour but it keeps the texture really nice and smooth for as long as it’s frozen!

    1. I hope you like it if you try it! Thanks for the tip about the vodka. We don’t usually have any, but that’s good to know. It would probably work perfectly with this recipe, since it turned out a bit icy after I put it in the freezer despite being smooth when it first came out of the ice cream maker. I love our CuisineArt – it makes things so easy!

Leave a Comment

