thin pizza crust [gluten-free]

IMG_1344

One of the foods I miss most at college is pizza.

IMG_5162

I think I could start a dozen posts with that phrase: “One of the foods I miss most at college . . .” And every it would be true. I just miss food.

IMG_4049

Anyway, pizza. As with most dishes available in the dining hall, I refrain from consuming the pizza at school. Granted, the perfect circles of heat-kissed, unnaturally white crust bubbling with shimmering, pale cheese and creamy red sauce that emerge with astonishing frequency from gas-fired brick pizza ovens are well-presented. Sometimes they look downright alluring. Usually, though, I’m not tempted. I like my pizzas with lots of vegetables or fruits, often in somewhat odd combinations. So, I wait. One meal turns into ten and five days turn into five weeks, and I forget about pizza. And cheese.

IMG_4255

Once I come home and, in my rummaging through our cooking implements, am forced to shove aside our pizza stone several dozen times, I realize how much I have longed for a good piece of pizza. With cheese – any kind of cheese.

IMG_5124

Do you know how hard cheese is to come by on a college campus? Impossible. All that is available is feta crumbles and shredded soft cheeses for salads. Everything else is either a close relative of velveeta or already melted atop some greasy dish I don’t want to eat anyway. I think I’m repeating myself.

IMG_4250

Back at home, I make pizza. I’m one of those thin crust people. Actually, no. I’ll eat any sort of crust, but thin is what I make at home. Of course I don’t use white flour, so for the longest time I used a whole wheat pizza dough recipe that worked just fine. It consistently produced properly stretchy pizza dough sufficient for two pizzas. I used it as a base for several pizzas of  my own with reasonable success. But after a while I became discontent with how soggy the crust tended to become if I spread more than a thin layer of any sort of soupy sauce on it. I wanted a dependably thin and crisp crust. An impermeable crust. An impervious crust. A super crust!

IMG_4055

Pardon the dramatization. Pause for a second here and lower any expectations you might have. I like this crust; it’s good. But it’s really not a super crust. What it is is like eating pizza on a thick, slightly soft cracker. Perhaps that doesn’t sound appealing to you. Try it, though. I bet you’ll like it.

IMG_5126

Plus, it’s way faster than regular pizza dough. Forget proofing and rising and planning ahead. Want to make pizza? Go ahead. Now. You can mix together and roll out this crust in less time than it takes your oven to heat up.

IMG_5127

That it is gluten-free is incidental – a fortuitous bonus.

IMG_5131

Thin Pizza Crust [Gluten-Free]

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/2 cup soy flour (or more corn/flax meal or other flour; whatever!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 5 tablespoons water

[Makes one average-sized pizza crust.]

Preheat your oven 400°F.

Place pizza stone or sheet in oven to heat. This is key. It’ll help the crust cook both on the top and the bottom and will make it crispy.

Combine all ingredients to make a moist dough with which you can form a ball. Roll out the dough between two sheets of parchment or wax paper. Take the pizza stone out of the oven and lay the dough on the stone. The edges of the dough will probably be a bit rough; patch them if you like. Bake for about 7 to 10 minutes, until lightly browned on the edges, before adding toppings. Bake again for 5 to 10 minutes until cheese is melted and toppings are heated thoroughly. Enjoy!

[Note about the flour: I’m not gluten intolerant, so sometimes I use some whole wheat flour because I can. But, I always stick to the base of the recipe: the 1/2 cup each of flax meal and cornmeal. That other half a cup of flour could be just about anything, I think.]

I’m trying something new and linking this post to Sunday School Blog Carnival at Butter Believer and Gluten Free Fridays at Vegetarian Mama.

8 comments

  1. I make my own crust frequently–the kind that rises. I will try this next time. I’ll be I’ll like it. Actually I bought a package of three small crusts last week so made one last night. It was good because I like to put my own additives on it–green peppers, mushrooms, of course tomato sauce, some chives. It was very good. I ate half last night with a salad and the other half after church today. Love,
    Grandma M.

  2. How do you get everything you post to look absolutely scrumptious!! Your posts always make my mouth water. Good stuff!! I like your new Facebook page too. I tried to “like” it but somehow it wouldn’t take it. I’ll keep trying. Love, Grandma L.

  3. Bless you! I have seen other gluten free pizza crust recipes but they always include tapioca starch or guar gum or tapioca…. I don’t really want to eat those! This sounds easy and I like the notion of an impermeable crust for all the lovely wet toppings I like to use. We’ll try this!

Leave a Comment

