cookie butter fudge

cookie butter fudge

I know the holidays are over. Really, I know. I’m back at school, and nothing shocks you out of the lovely Christmas and New Year’s spirit more than the harsh smack of the first days of classes.

IMG_5054

But before I left, I mustered the last shreds of my holiday dessert-making enthusiasm to produce something delectable to celebrate the return of Downton Abbey. Having successfully asked for and received Biscoff spread – a creamy peanut butter-like substance that consists of ground cookies, of the variety served on a Delta flight, and other creamifying ingredients – for Christmas, I hoped to try a dessert that would totally consume one-jar supply, as I had taking to eating it by the fingerfull at night before bed. It’s dangerous, that Biscoff spread.

IMG_5113

Anyway, at first I thought Biscoff cookies, then a simple Biscoff cake, or perhaps a Biscoff mug cake served with Biscoff milk. As tasty as I am certain all of those options would have been, I was concerned that the flour in all of them would dilute the flavor of the Biscoff spread, and considering my limited supply, I wanted as much Biscoff flavor in every bite as possible. Having pondered and tested the resilience and robustness of Biscoff spread’s flavor since then, I suspect that masking it would prove difficult. But I was less sure at the time.

IMG_5105

So, I decided to make fudge, assuming that lots of sugar could only enhance the Biscoff flavor. Also, my recent success with other fudge recipes gave me confidence that fudge could not fail. I was right.

IMG_5036

Perfect Biscoff flavor springs from every sweet, smooth bite. And, as Biscoff is wont to do, the lovely spices linger pleasantly on the back of your tongue afterwards.

cookie butter, sweetened condensed milk

Though I have never tried it, I suspect this fudge would work equally well when made with any variety of cookie butter. I suppose I am thinking of the Trader Joe’s variety, which I beheld with my very own eyes on my multiple visits to our town’s new Trader Joe’s.  Yes, ladies and gentlemen, we now have both a Trader Joe’s and a Whole Foods! I am beyond content with our grocery store options. But I digress. Cookie butter. Yes, I think any sort would do, which is why I did not limit the fudge’s horizons: I call it Cookie Butter Fudge rather than Biscoff Spread Fudge.

IMG_5114

I attempted to bring some of the marvelous little squares back to school with me as a consolation prize for my return to classes. After carefully slicing it and placing each piece in a tupperware like some kind of edible puzzle, I abandoned the poor little fudge bites alone in the cold fridge in my rush to leave. It was a great tragedy.

IMG_5067

But I probably did not need all that fudge anyway. Plus, my forgetfulness means I might just have to make another batch over Martin Luther King Jr. weekend. Oh darn. It will be such a chore. Perhaps the next time I will add some toasted pecans. I imagine that the crunchy nuttiness would go perfectly with the sugared spices of the Biscoff. Oh yes.

cookie butter fudge

Cookie Butter Fudge

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cookie butter [I used Biscoff spread]
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk
  • 5 cups powdered sugar

Melt the butter by microwaving it for about 30 seconds in a large bowl. Add the cookie butter and sweetened condensed milk and microwave another 30 seconds, until the sweetened condensed milk has liquified just a bit. Mix the ingredients together until smooth and uniformly combined. Fold in the powdered sugar 1/2 a cup at a time. The fudge should be smooth, creamy, and free of lumps or unincorporated powdered sugar. Grease an 8×8-inch casserole dish and line it with parchment or wax paper. Pour the fudge into the dish and spread it evenly with a spatula. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours, until firmly set. Enjoy!

7 comments

  1. I don’t think it ever took my Comment. The fudge sounds wonderful. When the pictures appeared my mouth started to water. Got your two notes today. Thank you. Don’t know if you ever got my e-mail several days ago at home. What is truffle oil? I have a recipe that calls for it; I used olive oil. Love, Grandma M.

  2. Looks and sounds absolutely yummy!! Never heard of Biscoff spread so will definitely have to get a taste of it and/or your fudge next time we’re together. Hope all classes for second semester are interesting and engaging. Love you, Grandma L.

  3. Hey, I just stumbled across this recipe and it looks amazing! I plan to make it for my family as a stocking-filler surprise, so I was wondering how long in advance I could make it? How long will it keep, do you think, and how should I store it? Thanks so much for your help, L :)

    1. Hello Lauren!
      So glad you found it!
      When I’ve made it, the fudge got eaten up within a matter of, well, hours, so I’ve really never had the chance to find out myself. But, if I were to make a semi-educated guess, but I’d say a couple of weeks. I would store it in the fridge. Make sure to put it in a very airtight container, since fudge dries out pretty easily. It’d probably be best to put wax paper between the pieces, too, to keep them from sticking to each other and to keep the moisture in.
      Hope that helps! Please do tell me how it turns out!

Leave a Comment

