cranberry walnut pancakes [gf]

I found some cranberries in the freezer. They must be at least two years old. A few years ago Dad made cranberry muffins for his weekly staff meetings at work. After a few months of cranberry he switched to banana chocolate chip walnut muffins. For at least a year he faithfully baked three or four dozen every Tuesday night – multiple dozens for the staff and about a dozen for us for breakfast on Wednesday mornings. Eventually things got too crazy at work and we got too fat at home – kidding, kidding – for the muffins to continue, but the Muffin Era was glorious, buttery, and delicious while it lasted.

Anyways, these cranberries I found were ancient. Are ancient. I haven’t finished them off yet. Once discovered, immediate use seemed in order. First, I cooked down some with sugar for a simple cranberry sauce for sweet potato oven fries that we ate with ginger tofu. Then, I baked cookies. Now, I’ve made pancakes. Next? Cranberry juice, perhaps. Anyone else cook and bake according to what needs to be used up in the freezer?

I must say that I am rather pleased with these pancakes. I can’t help it. The last time I made pancakes, I resolved to concoct a gluten free version. Instead of altering my previous recipe I chose to construct an entirely new one: this one. And it worked!

I ground three types of flour: millet, brown rice, and oat. And for those few, brief minutes I loved our Vitamix. Then I returned to reality. The stupid thing is incapable of pulsing food, people. And it sounds like a jet engine or one of those Xelerator hand dryers – you know, the ones that look so sleek and round and modern but blast both your ears and your hands with a stream of air so violent that the skin on the backs of your hands folds into crisscrossing tidal waves blown before a storm of desert wind. Those hand dryers. That sound. Vitamix.

After I finished mentally blessing and berating the Vitamix, I tossed the rest of the ingredients in with the flour. Mixed it.

And poured a single pancake’s worth of it into a small pan. We trashed our electric pancake griddle the other day. Bits of nonstick surface were flaking off and appearing in our food.

So, I cooked my pancakes one at a time.

Until they were gloriously golden brown. Hurray!

Cranberry Walnut Pancakes [gluten free]

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 3/4 cup millet flour
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 + 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 + 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 3/4 cup frozen or fresh cranberries

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Stir in vanilla and buttermilk. Fold walnuts and cranberries into batter. Scoop batter onto a pan or pancake griddle preheated to medium heat. Cook a couple minutes per side, until golden-brown.

Serve with more walnuts and cranberries, if you so desire.

Makes about 6 large pancakes.

[A note on oat flour: According to my brief research into the matter, oats themselves are gluten free, but often they are processed and packaged around gluten-full flours. Therefore, it is advisable to purchase certifiably gluten free oats if you can’t tolerate gluten. But if you’re like me, and just want to eat some gluten free pancakes, just use any old oats.]

Submitted to the Gluten Free Fridays link roundup.

3 comments

  1. These look and sound delicious – and a nice change from the GF buckwheat pancakes I’ve been making. Thanks to your Dad’s inspiration and your innovation!

Leave a Comment

