roasted grape and strawberry pizza

I know, I know, it’s not strawberry season anymore. I’m in denial, okay? Don’t worry, though, I’m not so desperate that I would buy fresh, out-of-season strawberries just for pizza. No, no. This pizza is something I made in late May, during our strawberry season.

I haven’t the slightest idea why I never posted it. The poor recipe just sat, forlorn and alone, in limbo in my drafts section. Finally, it will see the light of day!

Of all the pizzas I have ever thrown together for Tuesday evenings – Tuesday being pizza night during the school year due to the minimal preparation required for the dish – this is the one of which I am most proud.

I certainly cannot say that of the photos I took of it, but no matter. Taste is the important part here.

And I think it tastes pretty good.

The concentrated sweetness of the roasted grapes and the flavorful, soft strawberries contrast excellently with the tangy goat cheese and warm spices of the pumpkin sauce. Mmm, yes. This is my favorite pizza.

Roasted Grape and Strawberry Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1-½ cups red seedless grapes
  • 1-½ cups fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1-½ cups pumpkin puree
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 whole wheat pizza crust
  • 2-½ oz (weight) plain goat cheese

Preheat oven to 350ºF.

Toss the grapes and strawberry slices with the olive oil. Spread on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Roast for 40 minutes, until the strawberries are soft, the skins of the grapes have split, and lots of juice has been released.

Combine the pumpkin, sugar, and spices in a small saucepan. Add the juices from the roasted fruit. Bring the pumpkin mixture to a boil over medium heat, and simmer for 10 minutes or so, until the pumpkin thickens significantly.

Pre-bake your pizza crust. Spread the crust with the pumpkin sauce, distribute roasted fruit evenly on top, and drop large pinches of the goat cheese over the top. Bake at 450ºF for about 10 minutes, until the goat cheese has softened and the pizza is heated thoroughly. Enjoy!

2 comments

  1. I had some of your roasted grapes on something when I was there. I don’t think it was this pizza or was it? It was strawberry season. I remember it was good. Love, Grandma M.

Leave a Comment

