grilled bananas + coffee caramel sauce

The same night I made millet pancakes for supper, I decided we needed dessert, too. I have no idea why. It was a strange, strange, sugary evening. We were bouncing off the walls on a sugar high after dinner. Not really, but we should have been.

Most everything is better grilled. There’s nothing quite like that delicious, slightly singed, carcinogenic grill flavor to perfect any sort of cooked fruit or vegetable.

Between grilling and roasting and the wonderful tastes both methods produce on any sort of food, sometimes I wonder why I eat raw vegetables. Except tomatoes, of course. Tomatoes are excellent in any form.

Back to the bananas. And the sauce. Oh, the sauce. It’s very, very delicious. After I drowned my bananas in it, I poured it on my pancakes, ate it on toast, scooped it up with apple slices, and shoveled it into my mouth with a spoon.

Since it’s made with coconut milk rather than cream, there is an added dimension to the sauce; beyond even the coffee flavor, there is a hint of coconut. Bonus: it’s vegan.

Don’t worry, the bananas are vegan, too. Grilled, their texture changes from firm but smashable to tender and soft. Their sweetness compounds with their banana flavor and morphs into a super banana – ultra sweet and über banana-y. It’s good.

Combine the coconut coffee caramel sauce with the succulent grilled bananas? Perfectly delectable.

Grilled Bananas + Coffee Caramel Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 + 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 + 1/4 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons instant coffee granules
  • 6 bananas
  • canola oil

For the sauce: Bring water and sugar to a boil in a small saucepan. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes or so, until sugar has entirely dissolved and solution has thickened. Stir in coconut milk. Simmer for 15 minutes more, until sauce begins to brown slightly and has thickened – stir frequently. Add instant coffee granules and stir until completely dissolved. If desired thickness has been reached, remove from heat; if not, simmer until sauce has thickened to your liking. Let cool a bit before serving.

For the bananas: Slice bananas in half lengthwise. Brush both skin and flesh of bananas with oil. Heat grill to medium heat. Grill bananas about 5 minutes per side, until soft, slightly caramelized, and grill-marked.

Serve bananas warm still in skin with flesh side up, drizzled with caramel sauce. Enjoy!

[Store extra caramel sauce in the fridge, and reheat it slightly before using to liquefy any crystallization.]

4 comments

  1. My mouth watered the whole time I read it. Not too long ago, Rebecca, my neighbor, told me how good caramel frappe’s are from McDonald’s. I hardly ever go to McDonald’s (or anywhere else, for that matter). I went and it was good so I’ve gone back 4 or 5 times. I was even thinking about one today but didn’t see a McDonald’s as I was returning from Huntingdon concerning my tires. Anyhow that caramely flavor and then bananas and coconut milk on top of it sounds delectable.
    Love, Grandma M.

  2. “carcinogenic”?!?!?!? Where do you even come up with these things?? I have decided that even for a homeschooler your vocabulary is unusually verbose. Bananas looked great btw.

    1. Why not carcinogenic? I’ve known that word ever since I found sassafras in our yard 5 or so years ago and wanted to make sassafras tea. It’s mildly carcinogenic. Thank you anyways, O Complimentary One. I think that’s the first time anything has look appealing to you. *grins*

Leave a Comment

