peach millet pancakes

[I wrote this just before heading off to Cousins’ Camp – a glorious week of pure fun with the cousins at Grandma M’s farm, annually –  but never quite finished it and had no time to do so in the day we were home before leaving for this Europe trip. So, I’m posting it now because when I look at my blog it seems overrun with some teenager’s amateur photos and too-brief descriptions of sights everyone who has been to the places featured has seen. It needs food.]

We had breakfast food for supper the other night. That never happens in our house.

But, I assure you it was entirely necessary in this case. No it wasn’t. The truth is that I have been too lazy to get up at a decent hour of the morning to experiment with these pancakes. I much prefer to bake and cook after breakfast. Strange. I’m a morning person. That shouldn’t be. I’ll get back to you when I figure out why I cook after and not for breakfast.

Well, anyways  (anyways, which Mother likes to remind me is not actually a word, is a word that enters frequently in both my speech and writing; must have something to do with my ridiculously tangential narrative style – case in point), I found some surprisingly ripe peaches at Food Lion a few days ago, not too long after I actually had risen at a sensible hour to make lemon cornmeal pancakes from Eat, Live, Run. Though I did not find the cornmeal pancakes’ flavor particularly delicious, probably due to my dislike for cornmeal, I liked the concept of adding a different flavor of meal/flour to pancakes. Plus, they included buttermilk, which I have recently decided is the most wonderful liquid ever invented; I’ve taken to keeping a half gallon of it in the fridge and adding it to everything I can.

So,  the cornmeal pancakes, they inspired me. But, I was equally inspired by some millet “corn” bread I made months ago. Everyone in the family loved it; we snarfed down the entire 8×8 inch pan of it at one meal. While ground millet has a lightly sweet, sort of nutty flavor reminiscent of corn, it is far less grainy than cornmeal and doesn’t have that bitter cornmeal aftertaste I can detect in anything. Millet really is wonderful.


Inspiration flowing from all sides, I tossed some millet in our Vitamix, threw the resulting flour in a bowl with some whole wheat flour, added peaches and buttermilk and other vital ingredients, and poured the batter onto the pancake griddle. They rose and browned beautifully, and everyone enjoyed them.

My next goal for these: make them gluten free. Just because it’s fun.

Peach Millet Pancakes

[Inspired by Eat, Live, Run]

Ingredients:

  • 1 + 1/4 cups millet flour
  • 1 + 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 + 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 ripe peaches

Cut the peaches into thin slices and halve the slices. Stir together all of the other ingredients until just combined. Fold in the peaches. Cook the pancakes on a hot pancake griddle. Enjoy with more peaches – and butter and syrup, obviously – if you please. Makes 10 pancakes.

8 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing this. We love pancakes and I’m always looking to replace a little of our wheat flour. Kids have rejected buckwheat flat out – maybe they’ll go for millet.

    1. No problem! I don’t like buckwheat flour at all myself, but millet has an entirely different (an much better, in my opinion) flavor, so I think it’s a good bet.

  2. I love peaches on pancakes but I have never thought about folding them in. Yours look very good so I think I will try that the next time. Yum! Pictures really make the pancakes look good.
    Love, Grandma M.

Leave a Comment

