massaman curry quiche

Quiche is a supper food.

Undeniably partial to sweet breakfasts as I am, it is inconceivable to me that anyone could stomach such a savory and clearly post meridian dish as quiche for breakfast.

I also don’t like eggs. Neither do my brothers, really. That’s why it’s so perfectly logical for us to have 18 layer hens. Duh.

It’s not that I dislike eggs entirely. I just don’t like their taste. Their texture, the concept of consuming them, their color, everything else is fine. But their taste is the same one I get in my mouth when I feel like I’m about to throw up. (Please pardon the disgusting reference, but the facts are the facts.) It’s uncanny. And gross.

Happily for me, though, egg flavor is easily disguisable. Mustard works best. Plus, I love mustard, so it’s a success all around.

Anyway, to compensate for our abnormally eggless breakfasts, we use lots of eggs in other dishes.

Quiche is by far the most effective way to consume mass quantities of eggs, rivaled only by souffle.

And the best part about quiche is that it’s essentially a blank, edible canvass ready to be filled with infinite combinations of tasty morsels.

So, turn a curry into a quiche? Oh yes.

Massaman curry has become one of Mom’s signature dishes lately.  I just made it into a quiche. I love massaman.

Yum.

This quiche colorful, fluffy, slightly sweet, and a bit spicy. And as quiche goes, I flatter myself that it is rather unique.

Massaman Curry Quiche

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • several dashes each of salt and pepper
  • 1 recipe of [whole wheat] pie crust
  • 7 eggs
  • 1 cup corn kernels
  • 1 + 1/4 cups coconut milk [low fat or otherwise]
  • 1/2 cup swiss cheese
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons massaman curry paste
  • 1 cup frozen peas

Preheat oven to 400°F. Peel the sweet potato and cut it into bite-sized pieces, half an inch to an inch wide. Toss with the olive oil, salt, and pepper. Spread on a baking sheet, and bake for 15 minutes, until soft.

Roll out your crust and place it in a pie pan. Pre-bake the crust for about 10 minutes.

Blend the corn, eggs, coconut milk, and curry paste (2 tablespoons for less spicy; 3 for more spicy) in a food processor until the corn is totally pulverized.

Stir the cheese into the milk and corn mixture, and pour it into the pie crust. Sprinkle the sweet potato chunks and peas (frozen or thawed; it makes no difference) on top of the soupy mixture in the pie pan. Stir the liquid a bit so that some – but not all – of the vegetables will submerge.Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, until the quiche is firm. Enjoy!

6 comments

  1. You have gotten quite inventive and somehow your recipes always look beautiful and tasty. That is quite a talent. My history with the actual tasting of your results is also proof to the pudding that your inventiveness is delicious as well. I love your risk-taking efforts. Love, Grandma

  2. As an egg lover your post shocked me. :) However this quiche sounds like a great way to use up your eggs. I’ve had similar issues when my parents used to have chickens which were very productive. The roasted sweet potatoes and curry paste are new additions.

    1. Ha! I really wish I liked eggs more, but alas I just don’t. Can’t. Won’t. I’m glad you like the sound of the quiche! It’s certainly a strange one – doesn’t taste a thing like eggs. : )

Leave a Comment

