lemon blueberry buttermilk mug cake

I discovered Kirbie’s Cravings, and consequently, mug cakes, quite a while ago. I found the website the way I usually discover new food blogs: by sorting through the lists of my favorite food bloggers’ favorite food bloggers’ sites and clicking on the ones with names that catch my eye. In this case I think the unusual name “Kirbie” and its alliterative pair “Cravings” was what I fancied. I am glad I clicked on over.

Kirbie’s is a kind of food blog that I do not normally frequent. In her recipes, which appear between thorough reviews of San Diego restaurants, she uses ingredients like white flour and lots of butter. Many of her recipes – mostly cookies, cakes, and the like – are meant to be baked in a microwave. And you know what? It is fine by me. Her cooking with a microwave is ingenious, and Kirbie’s Cravings adds a bit of balance to the otherwise predominately vegetable-focused, long-form online cooking literature I read. Plus, I can always substitute whole wheat for white. Ha!

Anyway, once I saw these mug cakes I knew I had to make them at some point. But, I restrained myself for months because of the danger: the danger of always knowing that an individual serving of cake is just a few microwaved minutes away. I knew that once I tried them, there would probably be no return, no escape from the delightful grasp of instant homemade cake. Of course, I desperately wanted to sample them still. I needed a decent excuse. Enter best friend Hannah. She is always a good excuse for desserts. We had mug cakes for breakfast. Oh help.

Here I am, less than a week after consuming those first fateful mug cakes that – despite Hannah’s and my consensus that they could be improved upon –  opened the microwave door to the magical world of microwaved mug cakes. And I have my own mug cake recipe. There is no turning back.

There is more cake in the mug that in appears, by the way.

Lemon Blueberry Buttermilk Mug Cake

[Inspired by and adapted from Kirbie’s Cravings]

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons white whole wheat flour (or pastry flour)
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 4 tablespoons sugar [or was it five? try four.]
  • 1 egg
  • 5 tablespoons buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • zest of one lemon ~ 1 tablespoon
  • 20 fresh blueberries
In a mug combine all of the ingredients except the blueberries. Pour half the batter into another mug. Drop 6 or 7 blueberries on top of the batter in each mug. Microwave for 2 minutes. If the cake batter is still a bit uncooked on top, microwave an additional 30 seconds. Enjoy warm with the rest of the blueberries sprinkled on top.

Looking over Kirbie’s list of mug cakes while writing this post, I noticed she actually has a blueberry mug cake recipe herself, with a much, much better picture, I must add. I should try hers at some point just to see how mine compares. Head over to her website to see how pretty mug cakes can be; her photos are superior.

6 comments

  1. Enjoyed your last two posts which I just read since I was in Berea, Ohio this week-end at my 50th college reunion. I’m definitely going to try the mug cake. That’s absolutely ingenious! Talk to you soon. Love, Grandma l.

  2. HA! Just read the part about me being a good excuse for desserts. And PROUD OF IT! Also a great excuse for using ridiculous amounts of butter and sugar and WHITE FLOUR. Miss you!

Leave a Comment

