most sincerely

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

[pictures in no particular order]

My gap year is over. I can not believe it.

I planned going to Peru for months. I dreaded it. I looked forward to it. I dreaded it some more. I went. By myself. I had a blast. I met fascinating characters. I made some amazing memories. I returned.

I threw together plans for California in a matter of weeks. I looked forward to it. I did not dread it. I went. I ate many good things. I hung out with my awesome grandparents. I had fun. I visited Guatemala. I came home.

It is so strange. All the anticipation and mental picturing is over. My actual memories have replaced my imaginations. How did that happen so quickly?

Regardless, here I am with thousands of pictures to illustrate even more memories and experiences, three stamps on my passport, and a blog full posts and comments. And I am so, so grateful.

My brilliant parents envisioned my gap year and made it possible. THANK YOU, MOMMY AND DADDY! Though I am sure this year did not turn out as you had probably hoped or pictured, let me assure you that I am glad I did it. It was a good idea. You were right.

My wonderful grandparents also played an enormous part by both finding various opportunities for me in California and hosting me at their house. Thank you, Grandma and Grandpa L! As always, I enjoyed hanging out with you guys. Thanks for trusting me to drive you vehicles and letting me experiment in your kitchen.

My best friend, Hannah, skyped me, texted me, and emailed me frequently everywhere I roamed. You survived, Hannah! It would have been a long, lonely series of trips without your cyber-presence coming with me everywhere. You are so coming with me in person next time.

And, thank you to everyone who has tagged along with me on my fragmented blogging journey. It is good to know I write for someone somewhere.

I shall, of course, continue blogging. I enjoy it far too much to stop. As is probably already evident, I am drifting in the culinary blogging direction. It is unavoidable; I love food. I will – hopefully and perhaps – write occasional posts about life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness to throw in with my food posts. Summer traveling with the family – to Europe! – and attending college this fall should certainly provide sufficient material for that.

I hope you will come along with me.

Most Sincerely,

Claire

2 comments

  1. Excellent!! Can’t think of a better way to get news from you. You do an awesome job of journaling.
    I enjoyed looking at the pictures–a couple I hadn’t seen and then some I had. I stopped when it got to be my bed time. I will continue. I know where I stopped. Love, Grandma M.

  2. What a great summary and the photos bring your experiences to the forefront. Thanks for bringing your gap year to a blog closure, but we definitely look forward to more blogging as your life takes a new turn this Fall. Love, Grandma L.

Leave a Comment

