our spartan kitchen: cilantro pesto spread

It’s spring. We have lots of herbs. I wanted pesto. We had no pine nuts. I did not feel like using cheese. This happened.

Half a cup of cilantro (packed), white beans (drained), almonds (sliced),  and walnuts (unmolested).

Four tablespoons of normal olive oil, two average cloves of garlic, and a fourth of a teaspoon of everyday salt.

Blended. Pureed. Pulverized.

Vitamixed.

Removed from the magical machine with the upmost care and efficiency. Spatula, thou art pathetic.

Swirled delicately in a bowl.

Spread on bread. Consumed.

Or, perhaps, photographed with its fraternal twin: Oregano Pesto Spread.

Yum.

Cilantro (or Oregano) Pesto Spread

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup walnuts
  • ½ cup sliced almonds
  • ½ cup white beans, drained and rinsed
  • ½ cup fresh cilantro (or oregano) leaves
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast (optional)

Place all the ingredients in a food processor, and blend until smooth. Enjoy on bread, with chips, on sandwiches, in pasta.

8 comments

  1. This looks delicious! I was just wondering what to do with my horse-radishy tasting mustard greens…. Thanks for the idea! I think I’ll try your recipe with the mustard greens – maybe lean heavier with the walnuts than the almonds, what do you think?

    1. Sounds like it’s worth a try! I just made this – with a few variations – with kale today. It wasn’t great, but it went well with the pasta I had for supper.

  2. Hi…I found your recipe at FindingVegan and it caught my eye because cilantro is probably my #1 favorite! I am putting this on my “to make” list and can’t wait to try it out. Thanks for sharing a yummy recipe!

Leave a Comment

