our spartan kitchen: flax and corn cracker-chips

Suppers on Sunday nights in our house have consisted of the same satisfying fare for years: popcorn, apples, and cheese. The only possible variations are, in my mind, in the same broad group of salty, snackish food: guacamole and chapati chips or hummus and pita chips, both still with popcorn, which is never of the microwave or buttered variety.

Tradition-keeping person that I am, I considered it an absolute necessity that I bake some sort of salty, crunchy vehicle for the hummus I discovered in our fridge the other Sunday; I most certainly could not ignore the hummus, nor could I set it out without chips of some sort. So, inspired by some flax seed chips from Costco that I have munched on at various gatherings recently, by the newly purchased bag of cornmeal in our cupboard, and, most importantly, by our severe and serious lack of chips to accompany the hummus, I threw together some chip-like crackers. Or were they cracker-like chips? Cracker-chips, I guess. Tasty, crunchy, easy pieces of salty goodness, regardless.

The required ingredients and measuring and slicing accouterments: corn meal, flax seed meal, olive oil, water, salt, teaspoon, tablespoon, half cup, pizza cutter.

A  cup of corn meal and half a teaspoon salt,

plus six tablespoons flax seed meal,

seven tablespoons water, and three tablespoons olive oil

equals one batch of moist but not sticky dough.

A sheet of parchment paper, a rolling pin, and cracker-chip dough,

plus a pizza cutter,

some erratic slicing,

and a teaspoon of salt,

with a 400° oven and ten minutes of toasting time

equals cracker-chips!

And cracker-chips plus some hummus equals the proper Sunday supper.

Flax and Corn Cracker-Chips

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup corn meal
  • 6 tablespoons flax seed meal
  • 7 tablespoons water
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1-½ teaspoons salt, divided

Preheat oven to 400ºF.

Combine all of the ingredients — except for 1 teaspoon of the salt — to make a moist dough. On a piece of parchment paper that will fit on a baking sheet, roll out the dough as thin as you can. Using a pizza cutter, cut the dough into cracker-chips of whatever size you like. Sprinkle with remaining teaspoon of salt. Lift the parchment paper onto the baking sheet.

Bake cracker-chips for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and place crackers-chips that have lightly browned onto a cooling rack. Bake for another 5-10 minutes until all cracker-chips are done. Let them cool before eating; they increase in crispiness the cooler the become. Enjoy!

Submitted to the Gluten Free Fridays link roundup.

14 comments

  1. Homemade crackers look like a ton of fun and for some odd reason, I still haven’t tried it. I love your nutritious recipe – adding/hiding flax in various recipes has become a habit of mine, so a flax cracker is very new and exciting for me! Hope you’re having a fun weekend!

  2. I changed up your recipe this week:
    1/2 cup whole wheat flour
    1/2 cup cornmeal
    1.5 tbsp. sugar
    3 tbsp. olive oil
    5 tbsp. flax seed meal
    7 tbsp. water
    1.5 tsp salt, NOT divided

    I made them the same way, but I put all the salt in the dough. I’ve been eating them for lunch with basil, brie, and tomatoes stacked on top. Yummy!

  3. I made these, but found that the high temp. burnt the oil in the flaxmeal. Baking for 2 hours at 200* worked much better. They are yummy

    1. Interesting. I can’t say that I had that problem myself (or maybe I like the flavor of burnt flaxmeal oil and just don’t know it), but I’m glad you found a solution and enjoyed them. Thanks for leaving a comment to say so, Julie!

  4. Is your corn meal in this recipe a finer grind? I tried it with “Purity” brand corn meal & some of them (middle pieces) feel like they will break a tooth! 😁

Leave a Comment

