adiós, Cusco

I can’t believe it; my eleven weeks are up! It seems like just the other day I was taking in the dizzying array of colorful houses and the glorious splendor of the Andes for the first time as I rode from the airport to my Cusqueñan home with my host mother. I surely have enjoyed being here in Cusco, learning Spanish, meeting interesting people from around the world, and eating amazing food, but I am definitely ready to go home.

Every student gives a speech during the break on their last Friday at school. Here is mine:

No sé porque, pero cuando pensaba en Perú y Cusco antes de venir aquí, imaginaba una ciudad un poco sucio y con comida abburida y desagradable o aún fea – con muchos frijoles. Estaba increiblemente incorrecta. Con la excepción del aire en las calles, Cusco es mucha más limpia que expecté, y, más importantemente, la comida es incredible! Si hubiera sabido cuán rica y deliciosa es la comida (especialmente la comida que se puede comprar en las panderias y pastelerias), habría estado a dieta por meses y meses antes de venir.

Hablando de comida hecha por harina y azucar, tengo que confesar algo que probablemente cada persona ya sepa: soy una pan-adicta . . . y, tambien, una pastel-adicta . . . y, además, una empanada-adicta. He probado, en solamente once semanas, todos los tipos de panes, pastels, y tortas allá en el restaurante Meli Melo. Y, por supuesto, yo sacaba fotos de cada uno, aunque todo el mundo me reía.

Estoy dispuesta a compartir mis fotos de comida con ustedes, mis compañeros de la escuela, poreque estoy segura que ustedes van a regresar a sus países y van a mostrar sus fotos de sus viajes a sus amigos. Seguramente, sus amigos van a preguntarles, “Que comiste en Perú? Queremos ver la comida del Perú!” Y, ustedes tendrán que decir, “Oh. Olvidé a sacar fotos de la comida.” Entonces, así que es obvio que este va a ocurrir y para que ustedes puedan evitar ese destino horiblemente avergonzado, les ofrezco mis fotos ahora. Tienen que elegir su destino!

Bueno, quiero decir algunas gracias:

Primeramente, porque vení aquí para aprender más español, gracias a mis profesores numerosos: Alberto, Albertito, José, Erwin, Rebeca, Wilfredo, Evelyn, Luz y Yusey. He disfrutado mi tiempo de aprender con ustedes y me alegra que, en teoría ahora yo sepa todos los tiempos de verbos y algunas cosas de la gramatica y puntuación, aunque siempre los olvido cuando hablo. Espero que ustedes todos ahora comprendan y sepan más de el homeschooling, ya que lo explicaba a cada profesor, creo. 

Quiero decir una gracias especial a los profesores que me dieron recomendaciones muy útiles:

Gracias a Luz por su recomendación de helado de lúcuma. Lo probe y me lo gusto mil veces más que la fruta.

Gracias a Yusey para su receta de la bebida de leche evaporada con coca cola. Cada persona aquí debe probar esta combinación; es extraña y deliciosa.

Y, gracias a Erwin por su recomendación del libro El Principito, que era el primer libre que había leido en Español sin saber el argumento antes de leerlo.

Tengo muchas más varias gracias para decir.

Gracias a Evelyn de la oficina por recomendarme el restaurante Meli Melo una de mis primeras noches aquí.

Gracias a Meli Melo por la major comida de todos los restaurantes en Cusco.

Gracias a mi madre cusqueña, Adela, por abrir su cas a mi, por la conversación, y por la comida, nada de que no me gusto, y especialmente por la mazamorra morada y las maracuyas.

Gracias al libro Lonely Planet Peru, cuyas recomendaciones aseguraba que siempre econtraba buena comida.

Gracias a todos los estudiantes de la escuela. Ustedes hicieron mi tiempo aquí muy divertido y interesante.Una gracias enorme a mis mejores amigos de la escuela – Joe, Erik, Matt de Inglaterra, Simon y Emil de Dinamarca, y Anna de Alemania – por muchas conversaciones interesantes y graciosas, montones de risa, miles de juegos de Capitalismo, y muchas cenas de comida chifa. He disfrutado MUCHISIMO su compañia y por siempre voy a recordar y contar a otras personas mis memorias divertidas de mi tiempo con ustedes.

Gracias a todos los estudiantes de la escuela. Ustedes hicieron mi tiempo aquí muy divertido y interesante.

Una gracias enorme a mis mejores amigos de la escuela – Joe, Erik, Matt de Inglaterra, Simon y Emil de Dinamarca, y Anna de Alemania – por muchas conversaciones interesantes y graciosas, montones de risa, miles de juegos de Capitalismo, y muchas cenas de comida chifa. He disfrutado MUCHISIMO su compañia y por siempre voy a recordar y contar a otras personas mis memorias divertidas de mi tiempo con ustedes.

Y, finalmente, y lo más importante: gracias a mis padres y a Dios por la oportunidad de venir aquí.
Esto es todo mis gracias.

Espero que nos reunamos un día en el futuro. Voy a recomendar Cusco y Perú en general a todos mis amigos, bien, a todas las personas que conozco que les gusta comer.

Es todo, excepto que tengo que decir, aconsejar, mandar que ustedes prueben la torta muss de maracuya en Meli Melo antes de que se mueran o salgan de Cusco.

Es todo. Gracias!


Here’s the translation:

I don’t know why, but when I thought about Peru and Cusco before coming here, I imagined a slightly dirty city with boring and disagreeable, even disgusting, food – with lots of beans. I was incredibly wrong. With the exception of the air in the streets, Cusco is much more clean than I expected and, more importantly, the food is incredible! If I had known how rich and delicious the food is (especially the food you can buy in bakeries and pastry and cake shops), I would have gone on a diet for months and months before coming.

Speaking of food made of flour and sugar, I have to confess something that everyone probably already knows: I am a breadaholic . . . and, also, a cakeaholic . . . and, furthermore, an empanadaholic. In only eleven weeks I have tried every kind of bread, pastry, and cake over there in the café Meli Melo. And, of course, I took a pictures of every one, even though the whole world laughed at me.
I am willing to share my food pictures with you guys, my school companions, because I am sure that you are going to return to your countries and show your pictures of your travels to your friends. Assuredly, they are going to ask you, “What did you eat in Peru? We want to see what Peruvian food looks like!” And, you will have to say, “Oh. I forgot to take pictures of the food.” So, since it is obvious that this is going to happen and so that you can avoid this horribly embarrassing situation, I now offer you my food pictures. You must choose your destiny!

Okay! I have various thanks to say.

Firstly, since I came here to learn more Spanish, thank you to my numerous teachers: Alberto, Albertito, Jose, Erwin, Rebeca, Wilfredo, Evelyn, Luz, and Yusey. I enjoyed my time learning with you guys, and I am please that, in theory, I now know all the verb tenses and various grammar and punctuation things, even though I always forget everything when I speak. I hope you all now understand and know more about homeschooling since I explained it to every single teacher, I think.

I would like to specially thank the teachers that gave me some useful recommendations.

Thanks to Luz for her recommendation of lúcuma ice cream. I tried it and liked it a thousand times better than the fruit.

Thanks to Yusey for her recipe of the evaporated milk and coca cola drink. Everyone here should try this combination; it is strange and delicious.

And, thanks to Erwin for his recommendation of the book The Little Prince, which was the first book I had read in Spanish without knowing the plot beforehand.

I have many more various thank yous to say.

Thanks to Evelyn of the office for recommending me the café Meli Melo on one of my first nights here.

Thanks to Meli Melo for the best food of all of the restaurants in Cusco.

Thanks to my Cusqueñan mother, Adela, for opening her house to me, for the conversation, and for the food, none of which I didn’t like, and especially for the purple corn jello and maracuyas.

Thanks to the book Lonely Planet Peru, whose recommendations made sure that I always found good food.

Thanks to all of the other students here at the school. You guys made my time here very fun and interesting.

An enormous thank you to my best friends from school here – Joe, Erik, Matt from England, Simon and Emil from Denmark, and Anna from Germany – for many interesting and funny conversations, lots of laughter, thousands of games of Capitalism, and many suppers of Peruvian Chinese food. I have really, really enjoyed your company and I will always remember and tell stories of my fun memories of my time with you.

And, finally, and most importantly: thank you to my parents and to God for the opportunity to come here!

That is all of my thank yous.

I hope we will meet again some day in the future. I will recommend Cusco and Peru in general to all of my friends, okay, to all of the people I know who like to eat.

That is all except I have to say, suggest, command that you guys should all try the maracuya mousse cake at Meli Melo before you die or leave Cusco.

That’s all! Thanks!

 

[Sorry about the weird spacing. I’m not sure what the issue is.]

More or less ready to go home! My suitcase does zip, believe it or not.

Leave a Comment

