pineapple salsa with cilantro

IMG_5593

I’m back! I’m back, I’m back, I’m baaack! I didn’t go anywhere. I just didn’t blog for forever. Life has been busy and lots has happened, but of course I’ve still managed to squeeze some cooking in along the edges – like pineapple salsa with cilantro from the wildly overgrown space in our yard where the garden should be.

IMG_5583

Conveniently, I happened upon a perfectly ripe pineapple in the grocery store while shopping for food for Mom’s birthday breakfast and supper. I served half of it for breakfast the day before her birthday and used the other half for the salsa.
IMG_5586

The scraggly cilantro I found bolting up between the pink clover cover crop in the garden tasted delicious despite its nonstandard appearance. Actually, no. Delicious is too strong of a word for my opinion on cilantro. I read once that most everyone has a strong feelings about cilantro – they either love it or hate it. Those who hate it say it tastes like soap. The other people like that, apparently. In any case, I guess I’m an anomaly, because I can take or leave the stuff. But in the case of this salsa, I think it added nicely to the flavor of the whole thing.
IMG_5599

Of course to eat salsa with or without cilantro – one needs a vehicle. Normally, I would make some of my flax and corn cracker-chips, but I’m doing the Whole30, which means no corn or soy. So, I whipped out a crumpled bag of pricey Bob’s Red Mill almond flour from the depths of the fridge and made the easiest, most delicious rosemary almond crackers ever. I didn’t have quite enough almond flour, so I added a bit of flax meal to make up the difference and left the rosemary out of some of them so it wouldn’t interfere with the salsa flavor.
IMG_5629

I’d been doing this Whole30 thing for about a week – since May 2nd – at this point, and I had really been craving crunchy things like popcorn, crackers, and granola. The rosemary crackers were just the thing, and man, were they good. They’re a repeat favorite for me. I served them at a party once when some of my Celiac friends were around, and the cracker were positively devoured. Numerous people asked for the recipe. Anywho, this grain-starved girl thought they went great with the sweet and spicy salsa, though her mother didn’t agree. I was just happy to eat something crunchy.

IMG_5590

Pineapple Salsa with Cilantro

  • 2 cups chopped fresh pineapple (~1/2  of a very ripe pineapple)
  • 3/4 cup chopped red onion (~1/2 an onion)
  • 1/4 cup jalapeño, minced (~1 large jalapeño)
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 + 1/2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (~1 bunch)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Instructions for the jalapeño: if you just want the flavor of the jalapeño itself, remove all of the inner white stuff and seeds. If you want the perfect amount of heat, leave 1/4 of the white stuff and seeds; chop it up and mix it in with everything else. If you’re crazy about spicy food, don’t even bother cleaning any seeds out.

Combine all the ingredients and adjust to taste. Enjoy with crackers or chips or by the spoonful!

9 comments

      1. Ooops – sorry Claire – my comment disappeared before I got to say that I checked back at my recipe and it had the same ingredients – just the quantities were different, eg 1 lime, 2 jalapenos etc

  1. Hi Claire, I like this one. Not sure you know but I have been a reluctant vegan for the past year or more. I have been following Dr. John McDougall who prescribes a strict vegan + no oil program. You will be happy to know I have lost about 40lbs from a high of 265 to my current weight of 225. Not bad for a carnivore turned plant eater. I am always looking for dishes that meet the criteria and your pineapple salsa is a great one, I am going to try it soon. Tio Tom.

    1. Wow, that’s incredible, Uncle Tom! Congratulations on all the weight loss! Tell me how the salsa turns out if you do end up making it. Your pineapple sure will be fresher than mine was!

  2. Sounds intriguing, delicious and odd sounding at the same time. I may have to give this a go.

    Also I am in the same boat as you on cilantro, no love or hate but I do think it helps with certain things (like guacamole haha)

    1. You should try it! I didn’t used to like salsas with fruit, but they’ve really grown on me lately.
      Haha! It sounds like you’re a lot more adventurous with your guacamole than I am.

Leave a Comment

